Every horse is different. I am fortunate in that at the moment I have three sound enough to be in work, but just two weeks ago I was down to just one horse working. Time heals, but also time doesn’t heal, too. Sometimes you need to add therapy, exercise, medications, or management to the mix.

Lucky is doing better in the new bridle set-up. He still is funny about the tongue but I think he’s just unused to wearing a bridle very much. Rugby is maintaining good condition this summer because I’ve got a good bit of grass for him at night and he’s happy with the grain setup at present. Indy is never thin and no matter what is out there to eat, he’s fat on it. All three could use a good one hour trot, but other than that, they are pretty good in terms of soundness right now.

A horse on the track at the TB training center near the Kentucky Horse Park. Racing stables have buttloads of horses because only so many are sound to race at any point in time.

I don’t know why you are always looking for the next shoe to drop but horses don’t stay sound forever and within their lives have different levels of soundness. Even a horse without an injury, like Rugby, slows down over time with joint changes and illness. This is why I began a serious hunt for a replacement horse before he was to the point I could not ride much any more. I have the desperate feeling that if I stopped riding, I would stop living, and how many of us have that feeling?

Gotta be a unicorn. Every day. (For more on being a unicorn, go to FB and search Smartpak Unicorn and you’ll get it.)

