Event Horse blog update – September 1, 2012

I am working toward building a pretty nice barn at the moment. I’d like to introduce my little “herd”:

First is my venerable 15-year-old Thoroughbred gelding, Rugby. He is a 16-hand grey gelding by a Virginia Thoroughbred sire named Proud Truth (Damascus lines) out of a Double Edge Sword mare. I have never been able to find another horse bred like him and all of his dam’s relatives are no longer popping up anywhere. He is a champion event horse; having been USEA Area II Open Training level year-end champion in 2009, reserve champion Amateur Novice event horse for the same region in 2007, and this year was champion schooling jumper at the Mid Atlantic Thoroughbred Show. He qualifed for the American Eventing Championships in 2006

Anne Moss photo of me and Rug jumping at a DVCTA clinic about five years ago

and we attended the Carolina Horse Park event and placed 54th out of over a 100 riders in the division. Rugby has been a good solid training level event horse, and he’s always had scope for more. Before we all get too old for this game, my goal with him is to move him to Preliminary level.

Next is McLucky, the great hearted chestnut Thoroughbred gelding many who read this blog are already familiar with. His registered name is “Nice Guy”, and Pat Dale obtained him and offered him to me in May.

Lucky: I be ready, Mom

Lucky is a 5-year-old chestnut Thoroughbred gelding about 16.3 hands by Mr. Greeley out of a very good producing mare. Two of his brothers are racing very successfully at present and I enjoy keeping up with them over the internet race programs. Lucky is “fresh off the track”. He last raced in November 2011, and I am re-starting him this summer. He is a big, happy fellow but he came with some physical problems we are working through. He was underweight from a course of drugs at the track, and lost his coat over the winter from withdrawal symptoms. On the upswing in the weight department, my good grass this summer has really helped him have a good appetite. He banged a hind leg in July and is back in work now, as that has healed.  Lucky can go in any direction; he’s got a wonderful kind attitude, is not a spooky horse in anyway, and loves attention; while meant for a possible foxhunt prospect, I like to school my horses so they are responsive and fun to ride, so when I’m done, he’ll be broke for anything.

Indy, dieting – as usual

We have two horses owned by others in the barn for which I am grateful and fortunate to ride. Indy is a Friesian-Andalusian-Arab cross gelding with a beautiful temperament, easy gaits and a serious overeating problem! He’s constantly on a diet. He’s sturdy, easy to get along with, and I’ve been riding him his whole life. Indy’s branching out. He’s done some dressage schooling shows and has actually foxhunted a few times last season very successfully, and my goal with him is to go forward with a few more shows and trail rides this year and work harder on his jumping skills towards doing a few low level horse trials.

Twizler unimpressed with the spa treatment

Just added this week is my token female – a lovely, lovely show mare owned by my vet. While she’s been on the mommy track for a few years, we decided to put her back in work rather than sit in the field. Twizler is a Thoroughbred who raced, unsuccessfully, was obtained by the University of Delaware, and my vet found her. She was 2nd at the Devon Horse Show in hand, in a very large Hunter Mares Suitability class, her first show as a 3-year-old, and was also shown in Baby Green Hunter a few times. She’s also cross-country schooled, foxhunted and been trail ridden, but her greatest achievement so far are two absolutely perfect colts all by a warmblood stallion, Exhileration (SWBxTB). Twizler is a beautiful mover and classic hunter over fences, but her time as a broodmare has left her with some bad old pasture hooves, so we’ve put four shoes on her and are working on the feet in an effort to get her back in work. My goal with her is to take advantage of the newly-rising interest in Thoroughbred horse shows, get a good show record on her for her broodmare career, and possibly event her a little if the opportunity presents.

