Photo by Sarah Kullman.

Photo by Sarah Kullman.

I am very fortunate in having a friend, Sarah Kullman, with a darn good eye and camera, who attended the Thoroughbred Festival Horse Show at Wicomico Equestrian Center in Salisbury, yesterday. These are her lovely photos.

Photo by Sarah Kullman. Nice frame but I would say slightly against the hand.

Photo by Sarah Kullman. Nice frame but I would say slightly against the hand.

Rugby did very well. He got prizes in the dressage, and was lucky to receive Champion of First Level. I also decided to do two hunter rounds, in the TIP Handy Hunter, and had great fun, although I took the wrong last fence in the first round. I really like these TB-only horse shows. There are some spectacular horses that enter and it is very gratifying to see them perform so beautifully. The leadline just brings tears to your eyes — these horses can be, and often are, discarded after racing. How unnecessary.

After the prizes and all I looked at my pictures and I can see I need work on my equitation. So that will be our focus!

Photo by Sarah Kullman - I am twisting to the left and don't like the elbow out.

Photo by Sarah Kullman – I am twisting to the left and don’t like the elbow out.

