There was a lot of work done around here yesterday, but not as much riding as I wanted. I did watch a few hours of XC until I could not spare any more bandwidth, and then we worked on the yard.
Lucky is the only one I rode. Lucky continues to get smarter. And smarter. This horse is just as quick as he can be in his mind. I jumped him over a flower box- X with a placing pole, and because the second jump in that line was down, I had to simply circle after. There was enough time to do this but he is still green at the jumping. The first time he stalled a bit off the ground and over jumped. I turned him, he took a while to get that I wanted to turn. The second time, he jumped much more fluidly, knowing how much energy to use, but argued on the turn. The third time, he jumped the same as No. 2, but turned PERFECTLY. This is one smart dude.

Just an ammy

Just an ammy


I’ve entered him in a little schooling dressage show next weekend, and I hope he doesn’t scare everyone too much … we’ll see how well behaved he is.
I need to get these horses on the trailer on weekends and out and about. They need to learn to STAND in there and behave, too. That’s the next problem to solve around here!
Rugby: was scheduled for a jumper show today…but…as horses do, he’s grabbed a heel and got a pretty bruise going. He’s a bit sore on it so rather than push he’ll get a few days to heal. Next problem: getting a bute pill down him! (Gauughhh). We’re going to try powderizing, mixing with applesauce, and the squirt down method. I’ll let you know how that works….:)
I am going to lose 20 lbs. in the next few months and try and get to preliminary this year on Rugby and next year on Hamish. I need your help and support. Not sure how I’m doing all that yet but I am doing it.

