We were jumping around the signed jumps at Carousel, and to me, there wasn’t much difference between the black and the white numbers, but there was a big difference in the yellow flagged ones. My friend was laughing at my impairment (telling the height by the color) but honestly, I got to thinking. There is a discrepancy in jump height and appearance and effort from level to level. They are supposed to be logically increased; but I have to say I think things get done backwards sometimes. We see courses designed for one horse at one level. There does not seem to be as much emphasis on transitioning from level to level at the places I have been schooling with a couple exceptions here and there (places with hundreds of jumps….) i guess that is the problem. You need lots of jumps to do that. Lots of jumps – lots of land. Oh, there is that open space problem again, eh?

