Taken on the road in PA.

Taken on the road in PA.

When it gets up to like 32 degrees, we go outside in our shirtsleeves to walk the sick dog. Yes. I am used to it being cold. I have three rotating pairs of long underwear. The electric bill is going to look like the GNP of a small third-world country. I have light green insulating foam stuck on the front of my house for all the neighbors to see I have had broken pipes. I plowed out my own driveway with the tractor today. I also did my neighbor’s too, who called me on my phone before I even got back up the drive to thank me. That’s why I do them. They appreciate the diesel and time. But come on. Five inches of overnight snow for no real reason, Mother Nature. I just had the arena cleared out a bit on the sandy end to ride – and you said, NO. No riding. More snow. You cannot ride. Thanks, MN. Up yours, too.

The sick dog is getting different medicine and we are hopeful he’ll get a little better. Positive for yet again another case of erlichiosis in the family, a terrible tick-bourne illness — we have it around here and here’s what we are doing about it. Deer – I’m fencing the entire property to keep them out. Electric fencing – going to make sure it’s hot especially near the back part. Clearing out my small section of woods. Mowing not only my fence lines but 8 feet away from it on the abandoned neighbor property too. So sue me. Vigilant fly and tick stuff on all horses and dogs including fly sheets and leggings all summer. Mowing. Spraying, cover up when outside, gloves, hats, long sleeves, long pants, boots if near woods or long grass. I don’t know what else to do but if someone says do it, I will. Lyme vaccine for the dogs.

George photobombing my selfie on Cold Hump Day

George photobombing my selfie on Cold Hump Day

My birthday was a busy day and it was truly surprising and gratifying to see how many wonderful people wished me a happy birthday on Facebook. It makes you feel like you are really important. My horses wished me a happy birthday by pooping up a storm and making me take two trips to dump manure with the tractor. Thanks, guys.

Snow is not really something you should complain about. After all, other than plow a little bit, there’s not much you can do with it or about it. Weather is what it is. While I feel for the people in the south who are suffering I don’t think it’s something to get wild about. Our ancestors did not have plastic, propane, electricity, well pumps, pvc pipe, diesel tractors, hot water heaters, double snaps, baled hay, or cat food kibbles. And they survived. Our little problems are really just that – little. Compared to the problems of the world, we are just a speck on the giant steel plow blade of life….now that’s an interesting way to look at it, isn’t it? Go on winter. Sling it out. We can handle it. Until the electricity goes out.

