Fall does not sneak in like spring, nor glide along like summer. It flips the page and drops the temperature 15 degrees, and says, “there. get ready.” The fall rye grass is already up turning the fields grey. The geese have been flocking for two weeks and it’s only mid-September. The horses are less concerned about flies and more concerned about the pesky bots and I’ve had to work on removing the yellow eggs off their legs every day. They don’t get many but it’s like a game to find them and scrape them off with the bot block. This time of year I get excited for fall eventing because it’s so nice to ride when it’s not blistering hot and sweaty. The bad news is the light fades quickly and we are losing two to three minutes a day. This year I do plan to get up some arena lights.

The horses are doing well. I was able finally to write about Rugby and putting him to sleep, but really, it wasn’t me — it was Lucky who spoke about it for me. Another top-read post at HJU but it has been hard to read it and look at it. My friend Amy expressed sympathy to me for what I had to go through and even though it’s been more than a month, the tears just came, and I couldn’t help it. It is so hard to lose the things you love, and I’ve lost three of the most precious things to me in the whole world in six months. One foot in front of the other.

Hamish is getting ready to hunt. Lucky getting ready to do something, not sure what. And George is also a priority and back in work as much as possible so that I can get more confident on him. Hopefully the fall, with all the fun and work at Fair Hill, will bring some good times. We are ready.

My dearest Rugby. I love you and miss you.

My dearest Rugby. I love you and miss you.

